Burn injuries cause deep physical and emotional pain that can haunt individuals and families for a lifetime. At Monsour Law Firm, we’ve worked with clients who were severely burned over large portions of their bodies, so we’re familiar with the lengthy recovery process and what it takes to receive compensation for such a traumatic injury. Let’s talk about some of the burn injury basics like how frequently burns happen and what comes next if you file a claim.
Burn Injury Statistics
The World Health Organization (WHO) defines a burn as a skin or tissue injury caused by heat or due to radiation, radioactivity, electricity, friction or chemical contact. Last March, WHO published burn statistics last year that tell us the following:
- Around 180,000 deaths occur every year due to burns, making them a global public health problem. In the U.S. they’re one of the leading causes of unintentional death and injury.
- Burns mostly happen at home (73 percent) or at work (8 percent).
- Non-fatal burns are a top cause of illness that leads to death. They also cause long-term hospitalization, disfigurement and disability. 96.7 percent of people treated in burn centers survive, but have serious scarring and lifetime disabilities.
- Often burns cause stigma and rejection, resulting in emotional pain and isolation.
- Burns are preventable.
Some occupations increase your risk of exposure to fire and chemicals that can cause a burn injury. A lack of proper safety measures, especially when it involves substances like liquified petroleum gas and electricity can also increase your risk.
Your Texas Burn Injury Claim
A burn can be life-altering. If you or someone close to you experienced a burn injury, naturally you want to know what a burn injury settlement might involve.
There’s no calculator that can compute what your pain, suffering, recovery process and rehabilitation might be worth. Basically, your settlement will depend on the severity of your burn injury. The more extensive your injury and the more medical care you need to recover, the more you might be able to receive as compensation.
Basically, if you or your loved one were burned in an accident in Texas, you’ll need to prove the defendant caused your injuries by addressing the following:
- Whether the defendant owed you a duty of care. For example, if someone crashed into you and you received a burn injury, drivers have a duty of care to maintain control of their vehicle.
- How the defendant breached that duty of care. In the above example, if the other driver was texting and driving, he or she was driving irresponsibly.
- Their breach of duty led to your burn injury.
Your Burn Injury Claim Questions Answered Now
If you were burned because of someone else, you have the right to seek compensation for what you suffered. We’ll fight to get you compensation for physical pain, mental suffering, medical bills, rehabilitation costs, lost wages, cosmetic surgery and all the other damages you incurred.
You have enough to deal with already without having to wonder what might happen if you file a claim. Make an appointment and we’ll sit down and talk. You might decide to file a burn injury claim, or you might just gather free advice. We work on a contingency basis, so we don’t make anything unless you receive a settlement.
To schedule an appointment, contact us online or give us a call today at (903)999-9999.